Home » Nanny Jobs » IL » Chicago » Job 1162433

Family looking for a part time caretaker starting Tuesday, Oct 04 in Bucktown - $17/hr

Posted 18 days ago by a parent

Part Time, starting Tuesday, Oct 04
Chicago, IL - Bucktown 60647
$17/hour on 2 days per week


About this nanny job

Location: Bucktown neighborhood in Chicago (Near North Ave & Western Ave) Time: Part-time. Mildly flexible, 5-10 hrs/week. Ideally 1-2 weekdays for 3-5 hours at a time between the hours of 8am-1pm. Duration: On-going, ideal commitment is for 6+ months. Pay: $17/hr based on experience and increased pay for longevity in the role + mileage reimbursement Requirements: Proof of COVID vaccine and booster Must have car and be willing to drive my parents as needed Fluent in English Whatsapp for phone communication with parents Situation & Your Role: My mother and father live in Bucktown and are mostly self-sufficient. They speak fluent English and can cook, go on walks, take their meds, and generally do life on their own. We live only 1 mile away, so most major needs are taken care of. Your role would be to provide extra companionship, transportation, and light assistance for daily activities. You must have a car and be able to drive one or both parents. We’ll reimburse mileage. Your primary work will be with my mother. She is 69 years old and has Aphasia from an accident years ago. It’s important that you have experience with Aphasia and can try to understand my mom’s intent as she sometimes mixes up her words (often it needs patience and a little gentle confirmation). A couple days per week, she will need companionship for walking, shopping and simply taking her out of the neighborhood for a different scene. She loves to chat, play cards, and walk. Occasionally, she’ll need help going to the doctor, dentist, or other appointments. Less often, your work will be to assist my father. He is 78 years old and is in good health. He wears a hearing aid and needs clear and slow communication. He generally reads, uses the computer, or watches TV on his own, but he could also use additional companionship. Responsibilities: - engaging in conversation and building relationships - driving parent(s) to stores, dentist/doctor appts, or Hindu temple in Aurora, IL (will reimburse mileage) - escorting on walks, groceries, other shopping - lightly assisting with communication or coordinating logistics (e.g., making calls for appointments) - light housekeeping (e.g., taking out garbage/recycling. We have a separate house cleaner.) - general help (e.g., look up recipes/articles, assist with connecting to bluetooth/wifi or other basic technology) - Other possible duties: Running errands, assisting with cooking, etc.

Nanny job details

Who you'll nanny for

2 children

Nanny job schedule

  • TUE: During the day
  • THU: During the day
Apply to this job

Applications accepted until Wednesday, Oct 05 at 12:00 AM.

Sign up for UrbanSitter to apply for this and more Chicago, IL nanny jobs

Apply for nanny jobs now


Sign Up Today

Ready to find nanny jobs?

1. Make a profile
1. Make a profile
Introduce yourself to parents and be sure to include your childcare experience and types of nanny work you’re looking for. Fill in your schedule and rates, and complete a background check.
2. Apply to jobs
2. Apply to jobs
Easily scan through the available nanny jobs in your area. Detailed job descriptions and handy search filters help you pinpoint the best nanny jobs to apply to.
3. Get paid
3. Get paid
Parents either pay in cash or through UrbanSitter’s online payment system. Money goes directly into your pocket or into your bank account via direct deposit. No waiting for payday and you keep 100% of your earnings.

Find nanny work today!


Join Urbansitter

As seen on