Looking for a great part time caretaker starting Wed August 30th - $18/hr

Posted 2 months ago by a parent

Parent picture

Part Time, starting ASAP

Cambridge
3 children: 7 years, 4 years, 1 year
$18/hr

We are a homeschooling family with 3 kids looking for a Mother's Helper during the day, ideally 2-3 days a week, somewhere between 3-4 hours each day. I'm flexible on hours and willing to work out a good schedule for the right person. Though this job is mainly Mother's helper, there will be times when I need switch to a babysitter role to leave for a short errand. Most of the time, I will be home and am in need of an extra set of hand to help with a variety of tasks from playing games, making crafts and reading with the older boys to helping out with keeping the house in order (so many Leogs!!). I’m hoping to find someone who can at times be my parenting partner during the day. Someone who feels comfortable taking initiative is really important to me. Parenting three children has me pulled in many directions and to have someone who can jump in and be helpful without being told what to do, makes my job easier. My boys (4 & 7 yrs old)are a sweet mix of high energy/jump around/get outside but can just as easily get absorbed in a project and sit for hours. They will listen to books for days! My daughter (1.5 yrs old) is curious, fun loving and has an amazing sense of humor. She's in full toddler mode these days and always on the go. I do anticipate there being times when I will go out and need a babysitter for the older boys. Or possibly leaving the napping baby while I run to pick up the boys from classes. For now, I don’t anticipate leaving all three children at once, as that is a lot to manage. As homeschoolers, we believe in self-directed learning which means I follow the passions and intrinsic motivations of my children. This could mean spending an entire day folding origami (as it was this week) to trips to the library (just a few blocks away) to read up on the lifecycle of a frog (as it was the week before). An education background would be nice, but is not needed. Just a true love for learning as I often find I am learning and exploring right along with them in this journey. In terms of discipline, we are NOT a "time-out" out kind of family. Our philosophy is that most unwanted behaviors or tantrums are rooted in something else (hunger, tired, etc) and prefer to approach it with some TLC rather than punishment. If we sound like the family you'd like to work for, we'd love to hear from you!

Job includes:

  • Making meals
  • Feeding children

Deal sweeteners:

  • Parking is easy to find/available

Not the right job for you? See all jobs in Cambridge, MA.

Babysitters & Nannies:
Sign Up to Apply

The pay is great. The hours are flexible.
The families are nice. Let's do this.

Date of birth (Sitters must be at least 18 years old)

Why? Connect with families through your network. We never post to your account without permission. Parents won't be able to access your Facebook profile.

By logging in above, you agree to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Why be an UrbanSitter?

good_pay Good Pay Set your own rates and keep 100% of what you make. Parents pay online and your account is credited after the babysitting job.
flexible_hours Flexible Hours You choose when you work, manage your own calendar, and accept your own babysitting jobs.
grateful_families Grateful Families Other UrbanSitters tell us how nice the families are. Parents appreciate great babysitters, and we do, too!

As seen on


CNN Wired Parents Mashable Wall Street Journal

Discover the babysitting power of UrbanSitter

Find a babysitter. Feel great. Get going. Learn more