Hiring a caretaker starting Fri September 8th in Oakland Hills/Mills - $17/hr

Posted 1 month ago by a parent

Parent picture

Part Time, starting ASAP

Oakland Hills/Mills
1 child1: 9 years
$17/hr

I am a traveling RN and I am doing a combo of p/t classroom-p/t homelearning for my 9 yo daughter, Isabella. We live in Spokane, WA and return every 2 weeks so that I can work and she can visit her father. I will need someone on Friday and Monday for a good portion of the day. Typically 9:00 am to 5:00 pm who is interested in visiting Museums and Science Centers and working on educational projects with a 4th grader. It is basically 4 days a month as the needed days are Friday and Monday approximately every 2 weeks. I would love to get a primary person with a few backup people who could fill-in but keep continuity with learning activities. Would you be interested in working for our family? The rate is negotiable. I am willing and able to pay more for experience and skill sets above and beyond. I am looking for someone to engage my 9 year old daughter in learning activities for a full day Every Other Friday and Monday. Isabella is going into the 4th grade and we are trialing an Alternative Learning Environment for her. Isabella will attend classes weekly in Spokane, WA on Tue/Thur and then do home-based learning on the other days. I am a traveling RN and we will travel down to Oakland/SF every 2 weeks. Izzy is very intelligent, precocious, and creative. I want her to go to Museums, Art Exhibits, Science Centers, Beaches, Hikes, Etc. If you have the interest and skill sets to help a 4th grader with her educational activities, the patience to work with a child with ADHD (not on medications) and the fun-loving Spirit to keep up with this energetic and joyous individual our family would love to meet you. Isabella can exhibit some challenging behaviors such as lying, not listening, arguing, and showing a little defiance. She is not an "Easy" child. Please do not let this deter you- She responds extremely well to small groups, 1:1 interaction with kind and patient individuals, and fair and reasonable boundary setting. This would be an excellent p/t endeavor for an active and emotionally-attuned individual who enjoys working and exploring the world with creative and dynamic personalities. Izzy does not have any other special needs, no dietary restrictions, or allergies. This position is open to men and women.

Job includes:

  • Driving children in sitter's car
  • Feeding children

Deal sweeteners:

  • Parking is easy to find/available
  • Meal included

Not the right job for you? See all jobs in Oakland, CA.

Babysitters & Nannies:
Sign Up to Apply

The pay is great. The hours are flexible.
The families are nice. Let's do this.

Date of birth (Sitters must be at least 18 years old)

Why? Connect with families through your network. We never post to your account without permission. Parents won't be able to access your Facebook profile.

By logging in above, you agree to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Why be an UrbanSitter?

good_pay Good Pay Set your own rates and keep 100% of what you make. Parents pay online and your account is credited after the babysitting job.
flexible_hours Flexible Hours You choose when you work, manage your own calendar, and accept your own babysitting jobs.
grateful_families Grateful Families Other UrbanSitters tell us how nice the families are. Parents appreciate great babysitters, and we do, too!

As seen on


CNN Wired Parents Mashable Wall Street Journal

Discover the babysitting power of UrbanSitter

Find a babysitter. Feel great. Get going. Learn more