Looking for a great part time caretaker starting Tuesday September 5th in Sunset Park - $17/hr

Posted 4 months ago by a parent

Parent picture

Part Time, starting ASAP

Sunset Park
1 child1: 11 years
$17/hr for for 11 hours per week

I'm looking for a sitter for consistent part-time work. Minimum requirement is 3 evenings a week (330-8pm Tue/Thu, 330-630 Fri). Extra perk for me if you are available for either helping around the house or working with my son 4-6 hours on either Saturday or Sunday. My son just turned 11, and has special needs. A good way to describe him is: he's 11 years old, functioning like an 8 year old. He's highly verbal, has an advanced vocabulary, but is slower in dressing, needs one on one supervision, and needs some help showering. He has no adverse behaviors. Those who have worked with my son tell me he is fun to work with and very rewarding to be with. I have 2 important rules: Be on time or give one hour notice, and, do not use your cellphone but you can use my home phone. The job involves getting my son off the bus, changing his clothes, assemble a snack (milk/cookies), homework, break for fruit, dinner (prepared by me), use the toilet and shower. I need someone who is self-sufficient after a couple sessions, and good at strategies to move the evening along so my son is ready for bed at 8pm. The ideal person would be responsible, able to take correction and able to bring her own personality into teaching my son and motivating him. I would provide training and insight into what works and what doesn't. I'm a single mom, and I have many things to do myself, so I need someone self-driven. My son loves reading and music. He likes arts and crafts. My son needs to learn independence in all areas, so the person I hire should be able to teach and model the task but not do the task. The person needs to be very present, in the moment. I will give you 2 short breaks, and there will also be free time before the bus arrives. Non-smoker, legal to work, background check, drug free. Payment is weekly or bi-weekly, paid through an agency that manages the financials. I set the rate, you and I decide what tasks you are comfortable doing, and it's paid from my budget.

Job includes:

  • Bathing

Not the right job for you? See all jobs in Brooklyn, NY.

Babysitters & Nannies:
Sign Up to Apply

The pay is great. The hours are flexible.
The families are nice. Let's do this.

Date of birth (Sitters must be at least 18 years old)

Why? Connect with families through your network. We never post to your account without permission. Parents won't be able to access your Facebook profile.

By logging in above, you agree to our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy.

Why be an UrbanSitter?

good_pay Good Pay Set your own rates and keep 100% of what you make. Parents pay online and your account is credited after the babysitting job.
flexible_hours Flexible Hours You choose when you work, manage your own calendar, and accept your own babysitting jobs.
grateful_families Grateful Families Other UrbanSitters tell us how nice the families are. Parents appreciate great babysitters, and we do, too!

As seen on


CNN Wired Parents Mashable Wall Street Journal

Discover the babysitting power of UrbanSitter

Find a babysitter. Feel great. Get going. Learn more